//
you're reading...
Why You Should Blog

Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes!

As the leaves are changing outside, so must the Digital Design Fellowship blog …

click for Flickr source!

Okay, that’s enough smarm for this post. But I would like to announce some changes to take place here at the ol’ rodeo.

As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve been doing some spring cleaning on the blogroll — if you’ll look at the updated sidebar, you’ll find a current list of blogs students are keeping while studying abroad, as well as some additions to the off-campus list. I’m still in the midst of cleaning up the sidebar, thereby lessening the visual assault of a trillion blogs (a good many of which were no longer active), and have been terribly impressed with the level of careful reflection Scotties have given to their blogging! As I cyber-congratulated everyone (and gave myself a handy pat on the shoulder for all that rough-and-tumble-sleeve-rollin’-down-and-dirty blogroll cleanup), I got to thinking about my blog and how to maximize its potential.

So, first things first: as it provides a pretty clear explanation of the Digital Design Fellowship and contains beaucoup de blogging resources, I show this blog to a lot of people. For instructional purposes, this site has proven indispensable not only as a teaching tool, but as an archive of how the Fellowship has developed over the course of a year. For previous purposes, it served as a hybrid of my predecessor’s personal reflection and external web-based resources, an auspicious start to the Fellowship’s goal of figuring out what an ePortfolio could be. As I begin my fifth month as the second Digital Design Fellow, trying to explain ePortfolios and blogs and web tools to anyone and everyone, I’ve come to the conclusion that this site is better utilized in a single capacity — as an actively updated site for blog and ePortfolio tips/hints/tutorials. This is not to say the DDF blog will become the next Lifehacker or anything, its content will just be more streamlined than before. Expect more updates on how to format your blog both graphically and substantively, posts on design inspiration, and links to the many nuanced debates over the increased relevance of ePortfolios and less personally reflective content.

For my part, I’ve recently decided to create my own ePortfolio apart from the DDF blog. Not only will this provide a clearer demarcation in content and authorship once I hand over the Fellowship reins on June 30, but allows me to “walk the walk”/”talk the talk” in regards to creating an ePortfolio. As I continue my research on the mysterious world of electronic portfolios, I’ll be posting my reflective processes as well as attempting to give a clear example of what yours could look like (I know, I’m so modest). Consider it the “show” portion of “show-and-tell.”

Well, anyway. As a final note, I’ll be speaking bright and early tomorrow morning at “Career Connection: Promote Yourself With Social Media,” an on-campus event for Agnes Scott alumnae (and anyone else who wants to attend). I’ll be using my position as Digital Design Fellow to explain the ePortfolio initiative on campus, and how other alums can use it to their advantage! There will be snacks. Or so I’m told.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

 

About Emily

I read! I write! I stand! I sit.

Discussion

One thought on “Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes!

  1. Hi, Emily,

    I’m very keen to find out how you go on with your ePortfolio work. Perhaps you would care to look at my eFolio: http://raytolley.efolioworld.com/ (I know a few links need changing!) or my blog at: http://www.efoliointheuk.blogspot.com/

    Best Wishes,
    Ray T

    Posted by Ray Tolley | October 9, 2010, 10:27 am

Leave a Reply

Post Calendar

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

We’re listed!

Find this blog in the education blogs directory
