//
you're reading...
Reflection

Discovering My Dream Career

This weekend Agnes Scott hosted the Southeastern Writing Center Association’s mini-regional conference. It was great to meet others from nearby universities and hear what’s going on in their writing centers.

UNC Asheville presented about self-evaluations their tutors had completed. They gave us handouts they used to spark self-reflection and a few minutes to do some writing of our own. Before our writing time was up, I decided I’d list the qualities I love most about the coordinator and fellowship positions. My most enlightening statement:

I want to do people-centered, education-related, community-building, communication-enhancing work. I also love the role of manager (although, I much prefer the term, “collaborator”).

I’ve never written down such a list before, but grouping these qualities in one statement feels like an amazing accomplishment! I don’t know if I’ve known that those are the qualities I’ve been looking for, but now that I do, I feel pretty empowered. I also don’t know if such an articulate phrase would have happened for me in a spoken conversation. It’s different to work out something in writing–as most of us know but often forget.

While looking for a fun image for this post, I stumbled upon an excellent post by Zen Habits, 5 Powerful Reasons to Make Reflection a Daily Habit, and How to Do It. Exciting tips!

Photo by froodmat (click to see original site)

Thanks to UNCA for sparking my reflection. Have you had a particularly insightful reflective moment this week? I’d love to hear about it!

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Discovering My Dream Career

  1. Shannon,

    I enjoyed reading your reflections about some of our recent speakers and I particularly liked the Zen Habits link. It made me think about my college graduation speaker who talked about keeping up with the 3R’s after graduation… reading, reflection and remembering.

    Somewhere in your job description you should include “reflection cheerleader.”

    Posted by Emily | February 18, 2010, 4:13 pm

Leave a Reply

Post Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

We’re listed!

Find this blog in the education blogs directory
