//
you're reading...
Agnes Scott Events

Neil Gaiman @ Agnes Scott: (My) Top Ten Moments

Neil Gaiman gave a wonderful reading, but my favorite moments happened before and after the main event. In New Year’s Eve style, I’ll outline my top ten:

1. The night of his talk the campus was soaked in a purple-gray fog. With the gothic architecture, Agnes Scott was both creepy and comforting–very Neil Gaiman-esque and kind of what I imagine Coraline is like. (I need to read/watch that already!)

Presser Hall

Even without the fog, Presser Hall's a little creepy, non?

2. The event was so packed that I just barely secured a seat–on the very last row of the balcony. It was a great view, but yikes! I don’t know when I’ve seen Gaines Chapel that full.

Presser Hall (interior, Gaines Chapel), Agnes Scott College

My view! (Fast-forward a few decades and imagine Gaiman onstage!)

3. He waved at the overflow camera and all of us who were lucky enough to get a seat gave those in the overflow room a moment of sympathy.

4. He chatted briefly about his Jewish grandmother, whose chicken soup can heal anything, even the burn on your tongue from eating it. (I love grandmothers!)

5. I learned that the title for his new The Graveyard Book was inspired by The Jungle Book.

6. He believes NaNoWriMo should be compulsory for everyone. Because writing a novel is hard. (True that! Check out my experience.)

7. When asked how he does such a good job with female protagonists, he said he just treats everyone as people.

8. He’s not a huge fan of putting a lot of personal information on his blog, but musician and girlfriend Amanda Palmer bears a little more in hers. I particularly like this song post:

And… Like Gaiman’s website, Palmer’s site it another great example of an e-portfolio! A cool touch: a page dedicated to fan art.)

Click on photo to learn more about Palmer and Gaiman's collaborative project. I love collaboration!

I also love pictures of couples.

9. I learned that Coraline was inspired by his daughter who liked horror stories at the age of 5.

10. At the end of the talk I bought a signed copy of The Graveyard Book. I gave it to my little sister Jana for Christmas. It was a hit!

Me and sisters Lauren and Jana reading Gaiman's new book!

Anyone else see him speak? What did you think?

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Neil Gaiman @ Agnes Scott: (My) Top Ten Moments

  1. Your follow-up post… Yay! Haha. Love the numbers along with the black & white ASC photos. Terrific work (as usual)!

    Posted by disfordani | January 2, 2010, 6:20 pm
  2. Love this post. I read The Graveyard Book as part of a small book group and it was a huge hit. Then I had my teenage daughter read it and she loved it as well. The imagery is just sublime.

    I am so jealous of your experience and at the same time am very grateful for this wave of information about NG that I did not know. (I am also jealous of your little sister with the signed copy.)

    Excellent photography, by the way. Love the architecture and the shot from the balcony made me a little dizzy.

    Keep up the great work!
    Annie

    Posted by Annie | January 5, 2010, 10:36 pm
    • thanks Annie! The pictures of Presser Hall are actually from a website devoted to documenting independent colleges’ historic buildings. Sweet Briar seems well-represented! Click on the photos to see the site.

      happy new year!

      Posted by digitaldesignfellow | January 6, 2010, 11:13 am
  3. I missed it! I had a ticket and everything I wanted to go soooooo bad, but I had an appointment at the chiropractors.

    Posted by shybrown | January 20, 2010, 11:07 pm

Leave a Reply

Post Calendar

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

We’re listed!

Find this blog in the education blogs directory
